There’s a taco in my oven.

21 07 2010

There’s a taco in my oven in a casserole dish.

“How the hell did that get there?” you may ask.

Well, it certainly didn’t get there own its own. With a little help from arriba, I took what could’ve been a taco – possibly taco soup and potentially chili – and made an “everything but the kitchen sink” taco casserole.

I’ve been noticing my freezer is empty. These warm (and very rainy days) have kept me away from the kitchen. Though I do have the most wonderful fruit sitting on my counter… and the fruit flies are in heaven. Over the course of the spring, I ate all my hearty, wintery casseroles and soups – and my work lunches have been suffering.

So, even though it’s above 20 C outside and my apartment is sweltering from the heat, I decided to bring a bit of Mexico to 5th Ave.

Taco casserole is easy. And delicious. Brown ground beef with mushrooms, onions, and jalapeno (arriba!). You can either use the store bought Taco seasoning or make your own or both! All are equally delicious and I won’t look if you find yourself in the “Mexican” aisle at Safeway with a taco packet in hand. It’s all in the way you shake it out anyway. Throw in a jar of salsa, some fresh, diced tomatoes, sour cream, corn, and black beans. Cook a heaping amount of pasta to mix in.

Get out your most “fiesta-looking” pan and ra-cha-cha those ingredients in. Stir in a healthy (meaning over the top) assortment of cheese. And top it off with crushed tortilla chips. The lime flavoured ones add a nice kick.

Bake. Eat. Viva la Mexico!

There’s A Taco in My Oven

1 pd ground extra lean ground beef

3 cloves garlic

A helping of S&P, paprika, cayenne pepper, cumin and chili powder. Dash of hot sauce while you’re at it.

1 packet taco seasoning (for the cheaters)

1/2 c. each of onion and mushrooms

1 jalapeno (seeds in means aaaaahhh in your mouth)

Mix, mix, mix.

Add…

1 jar of salsa

1 c. of diced tomatoes

1 c. black beans

1 c. corn

Favourite type of pasta

Once in the pan, mix in…

2 c. of grated jack and cheddar

1 little tub of sour cream

Crush some delicious, salty tortilla chips on top.

Cook at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until top has browned.

Now where did I put my fork…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

