So you like avocado.

28 04 2010

I like avocado too.

I just can’t eat it. Not because of it’s squishiness or appearance. I think it has something to do with its fattiness – although I hear the avocado’s fat is “good”. My stomach won’t accept its deliciousness.

But where is Mexican food with the avocado? It’s like Thai without fish sauce. Nearly impossible to find a replacement that will hold up the flavour as that single ingredient will.

So I faced a dilemma tonight when I decided to replicate Earls Restaurant’s Los Cabos Chicken Tacos. A favourite of my partner and I. But what to do without avocado? I stood there in the Safeway (or “Safeways” as many grandparents like to say) contemplating whether or not a night of raging stomach hurts was worth the buttery delicious of the avocado. I faced a serious problem. What could possibly hold a pit to avocado? “The injustice of it all!” my cilantro screamed.

And then I stumbled upon my answer. It came to me like a gift from Heaven’s Kitchen. Sour Cream.

And what is an essential ingredient in a good taco? Sour cream.

What can even come close to the texture of avocado? Sour cream. (Some of you might be yelling Greek yogurt or 3% yogurt, which are definitely good subs).

So, with a tub of sour cream, a bag of cilantro and three limes… I proceeded to make my very own chicken tacos.

Avocanono Chicken Taco

1 rotisserie chicken, shredded (just pull apart with fingers or use forks to pull meat apart)

1 pkg small corn tortillas (absolutely do NOT use flour – you lose the ico in Mexico)

1 tomato

Shredded lettuce with a handful of chopped cilantro. Drizzle lime over this fresh mixture.

Optional: Frank’s and cheese

Avocanono Sauce (estimates here – taste as you go!)

Mix together 3/4 c. sour cream, 1/4 c. chopped onion, 2 tsp paprika, less than half a lime (by taste), pinch or two of sugar, dash of cayenne, 2 tsp taco seasoning, 2 tsp cumin, salt & pepper. You can put in a bit of cilantro here too. And that’s it. As close to guac as you can get without the avocado.

Directions: There really aren’t any with this one. Bake your corn tortillas at 350 degrees for 10 minutes (flip ’em over after 5 min.). Spread the sauce, add the fresh mixture, tomatoes, chicken and cheese is optional. Drizzle with Frank’s hot sauce. Serve with your fave Spanish rice (not with the grossest rice you can make and have to throw out, like I did – hey, can’t win every time!).

Holy Mole.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

