Store-bought just ain’t the same.

20 04 2010

After some serious debate as to whether we’d dine on sausages and perogies or sausages and sweet potato fries, we decided to choose the fries. I’m never a fan of the sogginess of sweet potatoes, but I’ve found that turning the oven to 475 degrees C makes them crispy-ish. What I don’t understand is how unevenly they seem to cook. Maybe it’s my $4 pan from Superstore…

I found a recipe for dipping sauce and tweaked it to our taste buds. Here is the outcome.

That’s the Sauce

1 cup mayo

1 tbs curry

1 tbs cumin

2 tsp pepper

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp mustard

Dash of sugar

Dash of your favourite smoky spice (ours is Smoky Peri Peri – a gift from my mom)

Mix all these delicious ingredients together and you’ll see what I mean. Add/subtract to meet the demands of your own tastebuds!

And really… store-bought farmer’s sausage can’t hold a plate to homemade farmer’s sausage. Fortunately, I have an “in” and though the meat is pricey, it’s the driest, most deliciously smoked sausage on earth. Worth every dollar.

You need to find an “in”.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 04 2010
Lindsay

Turn the broiler on for the last 5 minutes to make them crispy 🙂 I just made sweet potato fries this past weekend too! My dip wasn’t as good as yours sounds though. I’ll have to try your recipe.

20 04 2010
thecomplicatedchef

That’s a great idea and a good way to make many things instantly crispy (casseroles, garlic toast, etc…).

Leave a Reply

